MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Install Fail!
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hey,
I'm a total noob when it comes to all this but i've been trying to read up an a lot of thing and i have been following instructions closely. I setup a host server and have a domain. i unzipped upload folder and transfered files to server via filezilla. I than made the permission changes to the files as described in the MyBB Wiki. I thought i'd be ready to do www.yoursite.com/install , but oparently not. I've tried www.yoursite.com/install/index.php www.yoursite.com/forum/install/index.php...etc.
i have uploaded the mybb files like 3 times to the server hoping that i'd be OK if i just follow the instructions.
Then i came accross this info about SQL in the wiki:
Installing MyBB on mySQL 4.0.x
To be able to install MyBB on mySQL 4.0.x, you need to make an alteration to a file first before running the installation script. This is a workaround, and not an alternative - mySQL 4.0 has already reached it's end of life so you really should upgrade as soon as possible.

In ./inc/db_mysql.php, delete/remove or comment out:

if($success && $this->db_encoding)
{
$this->query("SET NAMES '{$this->db_encoding}'");
if($write_success && count($this->connections) > 1)
{
$this->write_query("SET NAMES '{$this->db_encoding}'");
}
}
return $success;and also:

return " CHARACTER SET {$this->db_encoding} COLLATE {$collation}";This will allow you to install MyBB. If you have any problems, please report them at the Community Forum.

My problem is i have no clue what that means. I really don't know how to modify php files. Is there a certain program that let's you do that? I'm getting prettty frustrated with all this. i didn't think it would be this difficult...lol. Any help will be greatly appreciated!
I've edited the file for you.

Attached ./inc/db_mysql.php (edited)