MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Test Site
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

Firstly sorry if this is in the wrong place but I am unsure where else to post.

I am planning on doing some major upgrades to my site (www.vampirecounts.net), however I want to make sure my planned changes look and work before implementing them.

So to that I end I want to set up a test site, a site that is basically identical to the live site, but only I have access to it, and it doesn't matter what changes I make. So I would have some where to test any scripts, plugins etc.

Unfortunately I am still rather new to being an admin and so I don't know how to set this up. Does anyone have an idiot guide to doing this?

Many Thanks

Disciple of Nagash
Make a new folder, called test or something, copy the files from the normal forum across to that, make a new database and import a backup of your current forum to that, then edit the database details of the test forum in ./inc/config.php to point to the new database.

You'll also need to edit your Board URL setting and Cookie Path in the ./inc/settings.php of the test forum, and then edit them again in the test ACP after, so everything works correctly.

Doing this wouldn't strictly give only you access to it, but if you didn't give the URL to anyone it's unlike anyone would find it.
Matt, would you be ok if I send you a PM with a couple of queries that I have in regards to this?
I'll take no response as a no Smile

Ok, as I said I am very new so have a few queries.

New Test Directory - Is this in the Root Folder, or on the same level as the Root Folder?

Once I have created the new directory and the new database, can you advise which particular sections of the files you mentioned need changing?

After doing this, what would be the address to access the test site?

Is there any chance you would do this for me instead lol Smile