MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: .htaccess for admincp
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Well, nowadays people can hack easily an admin account on MyBB. Idk how, but they can, i wonder if you can list the installers IP and create a .htaccess file in the admin folder contaning this:

<limit GET>
satisfy any
order allow,deny
allow from xx.xx.xx.xx
allow from xx.xx.xx.xx
require valid-user
</limit>

Just change the xx.xx.xx.xx to IP's IF that works, because i'm still a newbie to PHP & .htaccess.

Technically, what this does, it only allows the installers IP and if there is any other admin, to access the Admin. So there is a safer way to not getting your forums destroyed.
(2009-12-31, 05:11 PM)wubaz Wrote: [ -> ]nowadays people can hack easily an admin account on MyBB.

Um... what?? No they can't. Let's not worry people with false information when you even said yourself you don't know how it happens, eh??
(2009-12-31, 05:19 PM)MattRogowski Wrote: [ -> ]
(2009-12-31, 05:11 PM)wubaz Wrote: [ -> ]nowadays people can hack easily an admin account on MyBB.

Um... what?? No they can't. Let's not worry people with false information when you even said yourself you don't know how it happens, eh??

Happened me 2 times, my friend once and another forum that i used.
Any software is vulnerable to weak passwords, chap.