MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Windows Installation Issue - config.php not writeable
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

i just copied the installation files to my windows 2003 server (c:\inetpup\wwwroot\forum), installed php 5.3.1 and mySQL 5.1.42. The "/forum/install/" page is available but the requirements check is failing:

<php version: 5.3.1
<supported db extenions: mysql improved, mysql, postgresql, sqlite 3
<supported translation extensions: multi-byte, inconv
<php xml extensions: installed
<configuration file writeable: not writeable
<....

and all other files are also not writeable.

The "read-only" option is unchecked.

Anyone knows a possible reason?

Sry, im a noob with this such of stuff.

Best Regarsd

MG
Did you CHMOD the files??
Follow this on how to install MyBB: http://wiki.mybboard.net/index.php/Installing
And this to CHMOD files: http://wiki.mybboard.net/index.php/CHMOD_Files
ehm, im using WINDOWS...so no CHMOD! o_O or im wrong? anyway, for temp i gave "everyone" write rights, but seems like it has nothing to do with that.
Yeah I didn't think Windows understood CHMODs and it'd just sort itself out, I'll see if a developer knows what to check.
It could quite possibly be the actual ./inc/ directory itself, rather than the config file. I know Server 2007 throws a bit of fit when I mess with user permissions...

A method that works for me is to manually create the file (just make a blank php file falled config.php). For some odd reason, anyway.
Thanks Tomm, i tried to create the config.php by myself...but i still got the same problem.
That's strange, it works for me.

The ./inc/ directory is writable for everyone, yes? You're not using a read-only server are you?