MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: how to change the welcome message position
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am trying to chagne the welcome message "Welcome there, guest" to make it centered. I changed it in the style of "welcome panel", but this affects the signed-in user message, which looks very ugly when it's centered. Any quick fix?

Thanks,
Georges
Try the templates, header_welcomeblock_guest
What should I change in the template? I am a beginner in CSS.

Another question: how to access the $lang variable?

Thanks,
Georges
Help!
Thanks,
Georges
That's a formatted line, and it ain't that easy to move things to where you want them to go without a reasonable understanding of html. Else you will end up with 'broken' templates.

Would like to help... but that's more of a tuition on html, than just moving the welcome text around.
I have a reasonable understanding of html.
Anyways, I am asking for help, so I would appreciate help.

For those who are willing to help:

I created an additional CSS attributes:

.welcome_guest{
font-size: 12px;
font-color: #0066CC
font-family: Verdana,Arial,Helvetica
}

and then in the guest welcome header template, I changed things to:
$lang->welcome_guest (<a href="$settings[bburl]/member.php?action=login">$lang->welcome_login</a> &mdash; <a href="$settings[bburl]/member.php?action=register">$lang->welcome_register</a>)
<span class="welcome_guest"><br /><br />Welcome to our forums! To post messages or view some specific sections, you will need to register. <a href="$settings[bburl]/member.php?action=register">Create your free account here!</a><br />You can also start viewing messages by selecting the forum you want from the selection below.
</span>

I don't see why the colors don't change for the text between the span!