MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Posting Javascript Into Forum - Is It Possible?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello, I'm new to MyBB and have one quick question. In other forums, I've been able to allow members to post javascript charts (that board required "Full HTML" box to be checked at time of posting vs std. default "Filtered HTML" for the following post to display properly. Here's a sample code:

<script type="text/javascript">var bfcParams = 'Symbol=VIX--X,TimeFrame=1-Day,NumberOfBars=134,WebChartID=274f746f-2a2d-4e62-a11a-fb9531e600c0';var bfcWidth = '600';var bfcHeight = '500';</script><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.freestockcharts.com/script/bfcEmbeddedChart.js"></script>

Does anyone know how I can get a chart like this to be able to be displayed correctly in my forum?

Thanks in advance,
Greg
You'd need a modification, allowing javascript to be posted isn't something MyBB includes. If I remember correctly even allowing HTML in forums filters the <script> tag for security.
(2010-02-28, 08:34 PM)MattRogowski Wrote: [ -> ]You'd need a modification, allowing javascript to be posted isn't something MyBB includes. If I remember correctly even allowing HTML in forums filters the <script> tag for security.

Thank you Matt for the quick response. Can you explain in detail if and how it can be done?
I would not allow any JavaScript in forum posts because people will be able to call all sort of things such as PHP scripts, HTML files, etc. I am not sure how you allow JavaScript in posts but I believe their is a free plugin that allows HTML to be posted, maybe look at the source and apply that for JavaScript?