MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Website URL at bottom of the page directs to nothingness
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,
When I enter the information for my forum board URL and website URL into the general settings tab under configuration, all goes well. However, whenever I click the website link on the bottom of my forum page, the link directs off into the ether of the net. Upon inspection I found this:

board URL: http://rcstorenmore.com/forum

website URL: www.rcstorenmore.com

when I click on the link at the bottom of the forum page it goes to:

http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com

Any way to fix that?

MyBB Version: 1.4.11
PHP Version: 5.2.8
SQL Engine: MySQLi 5.0.86

Thanks in advance
(2010-03-22, 01:48 PM)Discoman Wrote: [ -> ]Hello,
When I enter the information for my forum board URL and website URL into the general settings tab under configuration, all goes well. However, whenever I click the website link on the bottom of my forum page, the link directs off into the ether of the net. Upon inspection I found this:

board URL: http://rcstorenmore.com/forum

website URL: www.rcstorenmore.com

when I click on the link at the bottom of the forum page it goes to:

http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com

Any way to fix that?

MyBB Version: 1.4.11
PHP Version: 5.2.8
SQL Engine: MySQLi 5.0.86

Thanks in advance

The problem I think is that in the General Configuration area you've put www.rcstorenmore.com which isn't configured (the www portion isn't configured on your webserver). If you visit http://www.rcstorenmore.com it is a 404 error which means your website isn't configured for the www in your web servers vhosts. What you should do is redirect using htaccess or your webserver configuration file so that all requests go to rcstorenmore.com and remove the possibility for www to be in front.

You should also correct this in your configuration settings in MyBB and put it as http://rcstorenmore.com/forum
When I looked at the link, it was pointed to http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com when it was supposed to be pointed to http://www.rcstorenmore.com instead (as is stated in the original post).

First, make certain the website url is actually pointed to http://www.rcstorenmore.com as you're wanting it to be. IF not, change it to this. IF it is, continue.

Then, open up the footer template: ACP -> Templates and Styles -> Templates -> THEME TEMPLATES -> Footer Templates -> footer
THEME TEMPLATES should be replaced with the templates for the theme you're using (presumably this will be along the lines of Afresh templates, having looked at your site).

There should be a section of code that is along the lines of this:
Quote:<div>
<span class="smalltext"><a href="{$mybb->settings['contactlink']}">{$lang->bottomlinks_contactus}</a> | <a href="{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a> | <a href="#top">{$lang->bottomlinks_returntop}</a> | <a href="#content">{$lang->bottomlinks_returncontent}</a> | <a href="<archive_url>">{$lang->bottomlinks_litemode}</a> | <a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/misc.php?action=syndication">{$lang->bottomlinks_syndication}</a></span>
</div>

Make sure that the bold section reads <a href="{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a> and NOT <a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a>

I have no clue why it might read the latter of those, but that's what it appears to be.
(2010-03-22, 02:30 PM)ladyunicornejg Wrote: [ -> ]When I looked at the link, it was pointed to http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com when it was supposed to be pointed to http://www.rcstorenmore.com instead (as is stated in the original post).

First, make certain the website url is actually pointed to http://www.rcstorenmore.com as you're wanting it to be. IF not, change it to this. IF it is, continue.

Then, open up the footer template: ACP -> Templates and Styles -> Templates -> THEME TEMPLATES -> Footer Templates -> footer
THEME TEMPLATES should be replaced with the templates for the theme you're using (presumably this will be along the lines of Afresh templates, having looked at your site).

There should be a section of code that is along the lines of this:
Quote:<div>
<span class="smalltext"><a href="{$mybb->settings['contactlink']}">{$lang->bottomlinks_contactus}</a> | <a href="{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a> | <a href="#top">{$lang->bottomlinks_returntop}</a> | <a href="#content">{$lang->bottomlinks_returncontent}</a> | <a href="<archive_url>">{$lang->bottomlinks_litemode}</a> | <a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/misc.php?action=syndication">{$lang->bottomlinks_syndication}</a></span>
</div>

Make sure that the bold section reads <a href="{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a> and NOT <a href="{$mybb->settings['bburl']}/{$mybb->settings['homeurl']}">{$mybb->settings['homename']}</a>

I have no clue why it might read the latter of those, but that's what it appears to be.

Thank you Lady, i'll try that in the morn. I have a feeling the issue might be stemming from the fact that my web store is hosted by a different company and I am using domain mapping to forward my domain to that web store.
it's telling that when you hover over the link it displays the WWW in front of your domain but when visiting www.rcstorenmore.com/forum it 404's. But if you go to rcstorenmore.com/forum you're fine.
(2010-03-22, 03:01 PM)devnet Wrote: [ -> ]it's telling that when you hover over the link it displays the WWW in front of your domain but when visiting www.rcstorenmore.com/forum it 404's. But if you go to rcstorenmore.com/forum you're fine.

Right now http://rcstorenmore.com/forum is the board. i'm trying to get the link that appears at the bottom of the forum page to point to my web store, which is at: http://www.rcstorenmore.com I'll chew at it some more in the morning. When it comes to internet stuff I always feel like a beaver.. *chew chew chew*
When I hover over the link at the bottom that is leading to an error page, I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com and when I hover over the banner at the top I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/index.php but nowhere on the site did I find a link to http://www.rcstorenmore.com/forum

At any rate, the fact www doesn't work for the forums is rather irrelevant to this issue. It appears to be a side effect of http:// and http://www. being hosted separately (not sure what the more technical terms would be). http://www.rcstorenmore.com DID work for me when I typed it in my browser (while you're correct that the forums do not work that way).
(2010-03-22, 03:08 PM)ladyunicornejg Wrote: [ -> ]When I hover over the link at the bottom that is leading to an error page, I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com and when I hover over the banner at the top I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/index.php but nowhere on the site did I find a link to http://www.rcstorenmore.com/forum

At any rate, the fact www doesn't work for the forums is rather irrelevant to this issue. It appears to be a side effect of http:// and http://www. being hosted separately (not sure what the more technical terms would be). http://www.rcstorenmore.com DID work for me when I typed it in my browser (while you're correct that the forums do not work that way).

Well, I checked that code, and it all looks good, so i'm back at square one. Any other ideas?
(2010-03-23, 05:33 AM)Discoman Wrote: [ -> ]
(2010-03-22, 03:08 PM)ladyunicornejg Wrote: [ -> ]When I hover over the link at the bottom that is leading to an error page, I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/www.rcstorenmore.com and when I hover over the banner at the top I get http://rcstorenmore.com/forum/index.php but nowhere on the site did I find a link to http://www.rcstorenmore.com/forum

At any rate, the fact www doesn't work for the forums is rather irrelevant to this issue. It appears to be a side effect of http:// and http://www. being hosted separately (not sure what the more technical terms would be). http://www.rcstorenmore.com DID work for me when I typed it in my browser (while you're correct that the forums do not work that way).

Well, I checked that code, and it all looks good, so i'm back at square one. Any other ideas?

ya, what is it set to inside the admin configuration? If it's set to www.rcstorenmore.com, it needs to change.
Cropped Screenshot:
[attachment=17690]

So, why does it need to change if it's pointing to that? What do you think it should change to, for that matter? Because without the www on the main domain, it comes up with an under construction page instead of the actual store.
Pages: 1 2