MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Building a computer - advice/suggestions wanted
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hey guys,

I am going to be building my first computer ever, I'm pretty excited - but I am equally as nervous about it. I was wondering if I could get any last-minute advice on it from you guys?

Here is the list of parts.
  • Everything is compatible, correct?
  • Is there anything I am missing any important PC components? (Besides a soundcard, monitor, and basic peripherals.)
  • Do you have any suggestions on any parts you see? (Keep in mind I'd like to keep my budget as close to as the current subtotal on there is)
  • Have you had any good or bad experiences and can vouch for any component you see in my list?

Remember, I'm a noob. Never built a computer before.
If you could go over my list and double check stuff for me, or if you have any tips about computer building for a noob like me - please post them in here!

Thank you guys,
Andy Smile
I'm an Intel guy myself. AMD is better for gaming; Intel is stronger at more business oriented tasks.

Your components seem to be compatible. The big things to look out for is to make sure your motherboard supports the CPU chip (duh!) and make sure you get the right kind of RAM for the motherboard.

The first thing that I noticed is that you're sticking with the heat sink that comes with the CPU. Getting a better heat sink (should cost about $50) is especially important if you want to overclock the CPU.

As far as audio goes, the motherboard has the Realtek ALC850 chipset with up to 8 channels, so that should work for you as long as you install Windows (I'd have to check hardware compatibility charts if you want *nix).