MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How do I take my forum to a new server?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am thinking of changing my server as I am not happy with them in the short time I have been there. They have had two outages where I cannot access my forum in a matter of 4 days. Not good enough in my books.
What I would like to know is how to I go about taking my forum with me? I have it set to my own domain name so I'm hoping its not that much of a drama.
Oh and if anyone can recommend a good one....I'm all ears!
Im using limedomains , very cheap and pretty good. Just backup your database and all your files from your ftp server. Goto your new host setup a database, upload ur backed up database from your old server to your new server.
So I'm using filezilla as my FTP but I'm not familiar with backing things up with it. I am very new to all of this (as in a couple of weeks) but have just been so frustrated at the lack of support on the current server.
Ok back on track.....my server has a backup thing but I wouldn't trust it to back up everything. Do you (or anyone else) know how to do a back up on my FTP? I know this is not related to mybb but so far this forum is the best place I've been able to get any help. And I'm not treated like a simpleton b/c I don't know anything.
Its ok. I have managed to d/l a back up from my server. Now its just a matter of moving house ...so to speak. thanks for the help.
(2010-05-20, 12:46 PM)dunlop03 Wrote: [ -> ]Im using limedomains , very cheap and pretty good. Just backup your database and all your files from your ftp server. Goto your new host setup a database, upload ur backed up database from your old server to your new server.

I would not recommend them, I've used them in the past i do not like their support.