MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: $metadescription $metakeywords edit
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hey all,

i'm a newbie to mybb and i'm trying some different thinks. Like some plugins on SEO and Meta tags.
- SEO Links! (1.1 Beta 1)
- Dynamic Metas (1.1)
- Disable portal.php Plugin (1.0)

Now i've saw that those mods olive up the html header, some tags are printed multiple times, so i changed that on:
Home ยป Template SetsDiff Report: headerinclude

Now i want to change the var $metadescription and $metakeywords.
Where can i change those?
Why do you not simply use the Google SEO plugin for MyBB made by frostschutz? It's under support and it works like a charm.
the one thing his plugin does not do is add meta tags to the index and portal pages, as well as a few others.
(2010-05-25, 08:04 PM)pavemen Wrote: [ -> ]the one thing his plugin does not do is add meta tags to the index and portal pages, as well as a few others.

These things require just 2 simple template edits (index and portal).
(2010-05-25, 08:09 PM)querschlaeger Wrote: [ -> ]
(2010-05-25, 08:04 PM)pavemen Wrote: [ -> ]the one thing his plugin does not do is add meta tags to the index and portal pages, as well as a few others.

These things require just 2 simple template edits (index and portal).

not really, because the Google SEO pluin does not replace existing meta tags, so you end up with multiple meta descriptions. I am not sure how this would impact SEO results.
(2010-05-25, 08:34 PM)pavemen Wrote: [ -> ]not really, because the Google SEO pluin does not replace existing meta tags, so you end up with multiple meta descriptions. I am not sure how this would impact SEO results.

Huh? I don't understand.

Google SEO adds meta descriptions to threads (and forums?) but not index or portal. So you add meta descriptions to the index and portal templates. There's no multiple meta descriptions?