MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Installation Error
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I sure hope someone can steer me in the right direction.

I am trying to install MyBB on my home webpage. Here is the configuration.

Microsoft Windows 2000 Advanced Server
IIS
PHP Version 4.4.2
MySQL Version 5

The MyBB Install program runs fine. When I get to the Database Configuration screen and fill out the info requested, I get the following error....

----------------

Error
There seems to be one or more errors with the database configuration information that you supplied:

Could not connect to the database server at 65.41.229.25 with the supplied username and password. Are you sure the hostname and user details are correct?

Once the above are corrected, continue with the installation.

----------------

Can anyone tell me how to resolve this error? I am new to MySQL so I am fairly certain I am doing something wrong.

Thanks in advance for your help

David Rockey
Heloo there,
On your sql server, you should have created a database !! its name should be used as data base name
also , you should have created a user and password with full privilage for this data base!! so you should use them also in the installation process.

regards
I did all that. I created the user and database (Catalog in MySQLAdmin) and I gave the user full priviledges to this database.

Based on the error, it looks like I am not able to log into the MySQL server.

Thanks

David
heloo there

please provide me with the info you are filling, and their corespondence on ur server (all of them)
btw have u got any table prefix?
many regards
Here is the info I am providing for the Database Configuration

Database Engine MySQL (Default)
Database Host localhost
Database Username news
Database Password mybbnews
Database Name newsbb
Table Prefix mybb_ (Default)