MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Linear threaded view?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi,
I am new to myBB and so I need some help getting pointed in the right direction in my customization needs.

I need to create a view of a thread and subsequent replies ordered by reply, (i.e. threaded order) rather than date. This is a linear view a thread, but where the order of replies in the thread list follows the threaded hierarchy. If you look at threaded view mode, the little threaded list is the order I need, but I need to see the full posts.

Structured discussions are extremely important in the areas of online education I am currently studying: higher order thinking skills. I need to create this view for a project in my studies, possibly leading to my dissertation.

(It would be very unfortunate for myBB developers to remove threaded mode for it value in education alone, even though the current threaded mode is not useful. A fully functioning theaded mode is necessary, and that is essentially what I will need to create.)

I've been hacking my way through what little documentation about how to modify myBB there is, and the code in the showthread.php file, but the logic of showthread.php and themes/templates is obfuscated. The documentation is not complete enough to be helpful at my level.

So where should I begin?
Do I create a template to do this? (what's the difference between a theme and a template? It looks like themes are just collections of templates...?)

In showthread.php I can see where the threaded tree is built for threaded view, and if I could get $post['message'] to show up in the showthread_threaded_bit template I would be 90% of the way to fulling my need, but that array element does not seem exist that template (looks like at the point that template is called $post is a local array that does not contain that key.)