MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Question about thread sorting?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am not sure where this should go so I am posting this question here. I would really like to be able to have my users be able to sort a thread from "Newest to Oldest" instead of always "Oldest to Newest". Is there any way to do this? I am new to MyBB as of 2 weeks ago or so. I have searched for answers to this, but I haven't been able to come up with anything useful. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
I can't see how this is useful at all really. Makes it extremely difficult to read posts this way.

Back on topic though, I don't think you can do it without a mod (most likely an SQL query change).
(2010-09-09, 08:15 PM)Scoutie44 Wrote: [ -> ]I can't see how this is useful at all really. Makes it extremely difficult to read posts this way.

News thread?
I suppose but for general thread reading it's a pain I find. I already don't read the whole post. It would be complete hell if the first post I saw was the last in the thread.
It's a specialized usage to be sure, but I can't imagine it's too difficult to implement ...
Nope. A one-liner change in the query I believe. All you're changing is ascending results to descending (or the opposite I really don't know).
Thanks for the responses. I would like some of the threads to be able to be read like the boards on http://investorshub.advfn.com/boards/boa...rd_id=2587 so that when you go to the thread the latest posts are listed first. It is much easier to keep up with a board that works like that instead of the way MyBB is set up with the philosophy that every post is a response to a particular topic or question. If it is a board that you are on a lot, it is easier to begin at the end than always having to skip to the end.