MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Can I merge while keeping the same original directory?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello,

My name's Isabel and I am pretty new to myBB. Previously I had been just testing it out solo without much help but after about a week of testing I began to like it and I feel it might be better tested by moving my community to it and seeing how my users feel about this forum software.

So here's my problem.

Currently, my main forum runs out of the "forum" directory on my server which is where I want to keep it.

I currently have three forums installed on my server.
1. Official forum (SMF)
2. Test forum (SMF)
3. Test forum (myBB)

I want to basically merge my SMF official forum to a new "mybb official" forum but I want to keep the /forum directory.

So do I install myBB into a fourth slot, merge that with #1. Delete #1, install a fresh myBB into #1, and then merge #4 with #1?

Does that even make sense?

Or perhaps it would be easier to rename #1 as #4, install myBB into #1, and then merge #4 with #1?

Would this procedure hurt my database?

Can a myBB 1.6 forum be merged with another myBB 1.6 forum? What happens if a user has the same name on both databases?
I would suggest, installing a clean copy in #3, merge #1 into #3 (close the forum in #1 so users don't keep posting and changing the database)

After merging make sure #3 is working fine and everything ported over fine. Once everything is fine, rename #1 to something like forum_old and rename #3 to forum. You will have to update the settings in mybb to reflect the folder change (probably same in smf??)

This way you will still have a backup of the original forum in forum_old and mybb will become forum and your users can start using it.
Thanks geek, I'm going to give it a try. Pray I don't break something!
If you take database backups of everything first, you'll be safe should anything go wrong Smile