MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: What is best integration wise...
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am working on a stand alone CMS script that will be integrated with MyBB and I was wondering what is best:

1) Include the global.php from MyBB and do integration like that. That option allows me to integrate everything much better and also take advantage of the theming.

2) Integrate separately and make separate connections to the MyBB database. This could be a option as the global.php could interfere with the CMS script.

Personally I am leaning to the global.php as it sounds much better and easier but I want to hear the opions from the experts as I am still pretty new to PHP.

Cheers,
Bob
I'm also new to PHP, but I personally would go for the first option. Seems to be the easiest and the most time effective method in my eyes.
(2010-12-14, 03:14 AM)UndiscoveredTalent Wrote: [ -> ]I'm also new to PHP, but I personally would go for the first option. Seems to be the easiest and the most time effective method in my eyes.
Correct although someone more experienced with MyBB and integration wise told me that the main problem is that their would be script conflicts but if you do it well and give other classes that shouldn't be any problems in my opinion.
Here is my answer to you.

1. Generally, you will use 'globals.php', If you're not yet PHP savvy. It would be simpler enough to focus on the standard mybb global syntax if you're still a newbie, BUT if you have another MySQL configuration that is included with 'globals.php'. It would create script conflicts. I would suggest putting ALL other tables that will be integrated to mybb into the mybb database for easier utilization.

2. In this option, you will need more thinking about getting the scripts to work perfectly. I should say it's the best option. This is the main reason why I choose 2.