MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Some hosting and MySQL questions.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First of all, I would like to thank you guys for these awesome forums, really helped me out. Smile

I'll confess, I'm new to creating and setting up forums. I've been a moderator in a couple of forums but now I've decided to create my own. And I'm going with MyBB. I'm impressed by its offerings and the support.

I have a few questions that have been haunting me for a few days now.

1) What is this difference between limited MySQL and unlimited MySQL? I've spotted this in a few hosting sites. Some offer 10, 25 MySQL database while some offer unlimited.

2) Is there a difference in using an international hosting service compared to local hosting service? I'm living in Malaysia, South-East Asia and there are a few hosting providers here but the price is expensive. Around 65 US dollars here for local hosting compared to around <20 dollars for an international hosting with all unlimited options. I've read somewhere that living in country A and purchasing hosting from a provider at country B gives you a 'slower speed' compared to using a local host.

3) Do I have to download or have any other programs in order to install MyBB? Or I just need a hosting provider and the MyBB files to set up my forum?

5) How do I backup my forum and its contents?

I had another question in my head but it got lost on its way to my fingers.

Thanks in advance! Big Grin

*EDIT*

What is the difference between cPanel and DirectAdmin?
1) The number of sql databases are hosting offers, might depend on the host you chose and the price you selected.

2) See this article, its comparison between South Africa and Germany but might give you some hint what's the difference in between them.