MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Changing destination URL for logo.gif
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MyBB forums. I installed a test forum on one of my sites and I kind of like it. I've been trying to change the URL of the logo.gif from mysite.com/forum to mysite.com/ so if someone clicks on the logo they will be directed to my site's start page rather than the forum. In searching these forums I find that I'm supposed to go to Admin/Templates/modify-delete but when I try that there is nothing to edit or modify, it just shows a box that says Default Templates in it but there's nothing to edit. I tried finding the actual file using FTP but I have no idea what it's called. In SMF which I'm a bit more familiar with, I just edit the index template.php file but there's no file with that name in MyBB that I can find. Any help would be appreciated.
Go to Admin CP -> Templates -> Modify / delete -> *your template* -> expand -> header
find:
<a href="$settings[bburl]/index.php">
replace with:
<a href="$settings[homeurl]">
Thank you for your reply CraKter but I better stick to SMF. This is wayyyyyyyyy above my knowledge. At least I could find the line of code in the SMF indextemplate.php file that is written in HTML and change it. I tried to do what you suggested and it wanted me to create a new header template when all I want to do is change a simple file.

MyBB has a really nice and simple admin section as far as board settings, permissions etc. but evidently you have to be a PHP programmer to make a simple change in the code. With SMF it's easy to make simple changes in the code with just HTML knowledge but their board admin sections are horribly complicated and their permissions are impossible to figure out. I guess I just can't win.