MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: myBB in education - admin experiences?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Does anyone have any tips, pointers or links for how to configure users in myBB for education? (or should I post this to another forum? - I have a lot of experience with other systems but just getting started with myBB.)

I 'm setting up myBB for use with teachers, assistants and students, and am looking for any advice on how to set up users to fulfill these roles.

specifically, I am probably looking at setting up forums for a number of courses, each with teachers, and possibly teaching assistants that would have similar permissions as teachers. each forum for a given course will need to be walled off from other courses, I would need a way to batch add people to these roles if possible.

What would be the most efficient way to set all this up, because potentailly there are going to be several hundred users that will need to book into the system and set up during at the start of any given semester.

Are teachers and TAs essentailly moderators? or what?

thanks for any advice about any of this!

Gordon
I've done something similar to this.

Pretty much I stripped down MyBB to be very basic.

I then made all teachers moderators. We didn't have student access for registering, just guess access.

Principals became admins.
Hey, thanks Lyndon, that helps!

(2010-12-30, 02:59 AM)Lyndon D. Wrote: [ -> ]I then made all teachers moderators. We didn't have student access for registering, just guess access.

well, students are going to need to register and delete their own posts. We can't have anonymous students!

Surely myBB must be used somewhere in large scale educational settings...
(2010-12-30, 03:40 AM)Gordon Wrote: [ -> ]Hey, thanks Lyndon, that helps!