MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: SMF 1.1 to MyBB - Few Questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I have run a few forums before and have used a converter before (was actually MyBB to vBulletin over a year ago at least, probably 2) so I have some experience.

Currently I run a relatively small forum at www.vizslaforums.com (last month we only had 700 posts, 125k page views) so I don't think it will take too long to convert the database.

But I have a few questions:

1. Are users passwords saved? From my Mybb -> vB convert the users had to reset their passwords. Will this happen?

2. Is there any content that will be lost in the merge? I assume all users (including profile information), posts, topics, attachments, categories etc. are saved. But there is not definitive list of what is saved for each software.

3. I also run tinyportal on my forum, we have a nice front page that helps new visitors easily see what the forum is about, how to register etc. and I have some articles. I know this can't be converted, but I would like to copy it over.

So would it be possible for me to setup MyBB in a new directory then find a portal/frontpage system for MyBB, add the new homepage, copy the articles etc. and then do the merge?

I think it would take me a few hours to add the portal, so if I merged first then added the portal after then I think some posts would be lost.

4. Is there any problems known with the SMF converter?

Thanks
1. Yes, they are saved.
2. There shouldn't be but if there is nothing major will be lost.
3. Well you cant convert the plugin over but MyBB comes with a portal. Instead of /index.php go to /portal.php
4. No, if anything goes wrong im sure you can get help on their forums. Remember there is no SMF 1.1 to MyBB 1.6 converter but a 1.4 converter will work just fine.

Good luck with your merge.
Actually 4. is wrong