MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: I want to make a game.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Right,

I want to make an FPS game, because i was inspired by Minecraft and it's sales. But tbh i have no experience in that or with Java(and lwjgl and jogl),C,C++,Visual C++ or OpenGL,Direct3D.

There are also many other reasons one of them being a huge loan taken by my Mother for Me and my sister and we will be paying for it for at least 12 more years and i thought...if i could make a game that would sell maybe we can turn this poor life around.

I am well aware it's not that easy and that 'Notch' is smart and has been programming since he was like 8 while i started with PHP at 14 and i still do not understand some stuff.

The problem is...i need guidance. What programming language i use. What graphics API(OpenGL or Direct3D) and the like.

I have thought and have decided to make a First-Person-Shooter game(my favorite genre).

I know from Minecraft that graphics are not the deciding factor, but i am not making a block building game, so here graphics will matter as we are not the 90s

Any help?

EDIT:
Before this i thought of making an archiver for the symbian platform, but i hate the terrible Symbian C++ fork of Visual C++...so hard. And so i gave up. But making a game would be better /me thinks
Please Visit theres sites
UDK - http://www.udk.com/
Unity - http://unity3d.com/

Hi, I understand your problem too well I used to administrate a 3d Game maker which is still in development and we used to get these requests all the time.

UDK is the newer and overall I find the best game engine and level creator, it's also cheaper(free) when porting to apple devices and has a much better graphics engine with stunning visuals on iphone/ipods aswell.