MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: What's safe to alter for a newbie?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
First let me say I'm very pleased with MyBB but I have very little experience with customizing it so far. I see colors are simple to change and profiles can have new fields added to them quite easily. I do not want to deal with CSS or templates at this point, however.

So, what should I avoid doing, so that when an update comes out I can immediately apply it without overwriting the work I've done. (Again I'll use the colors on the templates as an example of "safe and easy").

And how do you more experienced forum designers track what you have done so that you can repeat the customizations when upgrades overwrite it? (Is an easy-mod [phpbb] equivalent available?)
Anything you modify from the AdminCP won't affect upgrading. All of the style and template information is stored in the database, not in the files themselves. When an update comes out, you can just upload the changed files with no problem.

To keep track of any code changes in the files, I generally keep a copy of the changed file stored on my hard drive, with a note in it as to what changes have been made.
Plugins are relatively easy to use. Just upload the plugin to your inc/plugins/ directory, and activate from your Admin CP. And you can easily uninstall it by deactivating it, and deleting it from your inc/plugins/ folder.
And a little bit of further information:

- As was said, basically anything you can change in the Admin CP is safe to change. We ensure all data is correctly updated during the upgrade process.