MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Wordpress or portal
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I currently am using wordpress for news and mybb for forums, but the forum theme is a lot different from wordpress and I am not good at themes, so I was thinking of just usings the Mybb portal for news like most gaming forums use in vbulletin.

Anyone have any suggestions on what I should do? Only, thing I have against the portal is that it does look a little bland.

Also, making pages on wordpress is easy with the built in editor, does Mybb have something similar for pages?

Thanks

My site
(2011-03-21, 02:58 AM)gamer413 Wrote: [ -> ]...Only, thing I have against the portal is that it does look a little bland.
Yes, the default portal is way "too boxy" & straight out of the year 2002.

...but the forum theme is a lot different from wordpress

If you have time and like a challenge:
1) Go to your MyBB forum in any browser
2) Save page as html
3) Find a tutorial like this...
http://articles.sitepoint.com/article/cr...l-template
...and create a Wordpress theme from your MyBB theme.* Toungue

*Individual results may vary, your CSS file is found both through the ACP, and in the /cache/themes directory.

Well another reason I want it as well is because people need to login to wordpress and mybb, and if they want to comment the articles are separate from each other. I may just end up getting VBulletin publishing suite or test out some Portal plugins and see how it looks.

I just want my portal page to look similar to something like this or this
(2011-03-21, 03:31 AM)seeker Wrote: [ -> ]
(2011-03-21, 02:58 AM)gamer413 Wrote: [ -> ]...Only, thing I have against the portal is that it does look a little bland.
Yes, the default portal is way "too boxy" & straight out of the year 2002.

...but the forum theme is a lot different from wordpress

If you have time and like a challenge: