MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Database password security
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I'm a noob at MyBB, so I hope this isn't too obvious. I have read a bunch of posts on adding extra security but there is one thing I haven't seen. The fact that the MySQL database admin name and password is under the web document tree doesn't seem like a good idea.

If somehow the web server returned the "config.php" doc instead of processing the doc, it would reveal your database password.

So, wouldn't it be better to have "config.php" include a file from some place outside the web document tree? That way, if the server is not processing PHP correctly, the user would only see a reference to the file containing the password and not the password itself.

The other thing I was unsure of was upgrades to MyBB. When I update to a new release of MyBB, will "config.php" get overwritten? Is there some better mechanism for including passwords outside the document tree?

Thanks for the advice.
It is the common way storing the config in such a directory. Unless there is something wrong with your Webserver/PHP configuration this is no problem. But you can add a .htaccess in your "inc" to disable access for additional security.
(2011-04-12, 04:10 AM)jbruce Wrote: [ -> ]When I update to a new release of MyBB, will "config.php" get overwritten?
Normally it is not touched but sometimes it is modified to add additional option.
(2011-04-12, 04:10 AM)jbruce Wrote: [ -> ]...
If somehow the web server returned the "config.php" doc instead of processing the doc...
PHP doesn't work that way, the webserver will never "return the 'config.php' instead of processing..."

A poorly set-up shared hosting (for example) would be much more dangerous, but in that case the fault is not with MyBB. Like StefanT said, this is the standard way for most php scripts.