MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Quick reply for guest users
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have allowed guest users to post and create threads. I noticed that when a guest users replies to the thread it get's added to the existing post instead of making a new post to the thread. How do I make it add as a new post instead of using the existing post?
Go to: ACP > Configurations > Postings > Merge User Groups to Ignore > and add Guests Groups ID (Most probably 1) in the option field.
how do I add a username to the quick reply? so the guest can make up a name instead of being just "Guest"
(2011-04-17, 06:25 AM)Ruriko Wrote: [ -> ]how do I add a username to the quick reply? so the guest can make up a name instead of being just "Guest"

Open ./inc/functions_post.php and find; (around line # 94 - 97)
			if(!$post['username'])
			{
				$post['username'] = $lang->guest;
			}
and Change it to;
			if(!$post['username'])
			{
				$post['username'] = "USERNAME_GOES_HERE";
			}
Change USERNAME_GOES_HERE to what ever username you would like to use for your guests.
(2011-04-17, 06:25 AM)Ruriko Wrote: [ -> ]how do I add a username to the quick reply? so the guest can make up a name instead of being just "Guest"

yaldaram,
is it possible to add a username textbox where the guest can input their own custom name for quick reply (just as they could normally do in a normal reply) ?
Try this. Download and activate this plugin: http://community.mybb.com/thread-31860.html
Now edit the template 'showthread_quickreply', search:
<textarea style="width: 100%; padding: 4px; margin: 0;" rows="8" cols="80" name="message" id="message" tabindex="1"></textarea>
and add this above that:
<if $mybb->user['uid'] == 0 then>
{$lang->username}: <input type="text" name="username" class="textbox" /><br />
</if>
wow, thanks a lot. it worked great. i followed the link and ended up using the Template Conditionals plugin, which is a trimmed version of the plugin you linked, by disallowing php code but keeping the conditional functionality:
http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=464
(2011-06-10, 11:35 AM)mikew Wrote: [ -> ]wow, thanks a lot. it worked great. i followed the link and ended up using the Template Conditionals plugin, which is a trimmed version of the plugin you linked, by disallowing php code but keeping the conditional functionality:
http://mybbhacks.zingaburga.com/showthread.php?tid=464

Great Big Grin Glad it works Wink