MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Anyone try ModX recently?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I've just been looking at CMS's lately and decided to try modx with revolution being out for awhile now.

I think the coolest thing ever is the Package Management system. It's just like linux. There are providers (basically repositories) and then packages(modules, themes, and what not). It even gets required packages.

Other than that though don't have much to say Toungue. Just thought it was awesome.
I've never actually tried ModX at all really. Sounds really cool though.
I've been using MODX for the past three years or so, started with Evolution.

I think if you like MyBB because it's open source, easy to customize, and easy to make it appear in the way you want to, you'll love MODX.

If you're a PHP Developer looking to build custom functionality, you'll love MODX and its very well thought-out API and System Events functionality (sort of like hooks as I think they're called in myBB) you'll love developing in MODX.

The TinyMCE rich text editor is available for html literate clients too, so it's pretty a complete package.

The only downside (for the MyBB community, that is) I can think of right now is the fact that one of the core developers is working on a native forum feature... Toungue As both systems are OS and pretty good, SSO w/ MyBB wouldn't be too hard to develop though. Or migrating wouldn't be hard either. Toungue

I don't really use these forums often (subbed to this post tho), so if you have any specific questions it's easier to find me on Twitter (@Mark_Hamstra). I just had to respond though & used MyBB in the past but forgot my login stuff.. lol
(2011-05-04, 03:30 PM)MarkH Wrote: [ -> ]I think if you like MyBB because it's open source, easy to customize, and easy to make it appear in the way you want to, you'll love MODX.