MyBB Community Forums
[For 1.6] Google SEO 1.6.8 [EOL] - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Resources (https://community.mybb.com/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Plugins (https://community.mybb.com/forum-73.html)
+---- Forum: Plugin Releases (https://community.mybb.com/forum-102.html)
+---- Thread: [For 1.6] Google SEO 1.6.8 [EOL] (/thread-101262.html)



RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - Ashley1 - 11-13-2015

Hi

Can canonical links be generated for the parameters language= and my_post_key= ?


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - J Greig - 11-24-2015

Hi there,

Just wondering what code I would use to show a latest thread using the Thread- layout? The sidebox I have shows latest posts, but are linked to using: {$mybb->settings['bburl']}/showthread.php?tid={$tid}

Is it possible to change this with something like {$mybb->settings['bburl']}/Thread-{$url}? I know the plugin will redirect to {$mybb->settings['bburl']}/Thread-{$url} but I'd like to remove the code, even though people can only see it by hovering. I have a bit of OCD when it comes to things like this, and removing showthread.php?tid={$tid} would be great.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - frostschutz - 11-25-2015

@JGreig: The "sidebox" would have to call "get_thread_link($tid)" and put that in a $threadurl variable which you can then use in your template. Even without Google SEO, showthread.php?tid={$tid} in a template is just wrong (for anyone who uses thread-123.html style instead).


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - J Greig - 11-26-2015

Thank you, I will see if I can implement it.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - Diogo Parrinha - 11-26-2015

(08-27-2015, 07:48 PM)frostschutz Wrote: The problem is that MyBB does not expect Google SEO to change URL styles (showthread.php?tid=123 to Thread-Subject) and appends blindly &thing or ?thing without checking whether ? was already in the URL. So you end up with URLs that have & before ? or two ? ? when only ?& is valid.

Normally the &? case is fixed by htaccess and ?? is fixed by Google SEO Redirect but in your case it turns into pid=0 for some reason. So your site seems to have something that turns pid=5foobar into pid=0, it does not seem to happen in a standard install.

Does this rewrite rule help? (put it below the ^([^&]*)&(.*)$)

Code:
RewriteCond %{QUERY_STRING} ^([^?]*)\?(.*)$
RewriteRule ^(.*)$ http://YOUR-SITE-HERE/$1?%1&%2 [L,R=301]

Sorry for the very late response but yes, that worked Smile


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - zone77 - 12-06-2015

I have successfully installed the plugin. I have 30000 pages index in Google with the old URL structure. Is there way I can setup 301 redirects in my .htaccess to new url structure?


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - wolfsta - 12-12-2015

Hi All

New to MyBB, is this plugin still working in the current version?  Should I install it on MyBB 1.8?

Thanks

(12-12-2015, 03:57 PM)wolfsta Wrote: Hi All

New to MyBB, is this plugin still working in the current version?  Should I install it on MyBB 1.8?

Thanks

Also, I tried the built in Friendly URL feature, but instead of my forum name it just says thread2.html for example.  Is this correct?  And if using google SEO plugin, should i disable the built in friendly URL feature?


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - .m. - 12-12-2015

^ Google SEO plugin for MyBB 1.8.x => https://github.com/frostschutz/MyBB-Google-SEO [see also its documentation]

its better to turn off inbuilt friendly URL feature if you are using Google SEO plugin.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - squid267 - 12-20-2015

(12-12-2015, 06:41 PM).m. Wrote: ^ Google SEO plugin for MyBB 1.8.x => https://github.com/frostschutz/MyBB-Google-SEO [see also its documentation]

its better to turn off inbuilt friendly URL feature if you are using Google SEO plugin.


How do you turn off the inbuilt feature? Having trouble finding it.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.8 - .m. - 12-20-2015

^ its setting is at configuration section
admin panel >> configuration >> Server and Optimization Options >> Enable search engine friendly URLs?