MyBB Community Forums
[For 1.6] Google SEO 1.6.8 [EOL] - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Resources (https://community.mybb.com/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Plugins (https://community.mybb.com/forum-73.html)
+---- Forum: Plugin Releases (https://community.mybb.com/forum-102.html)
+---- Thread: [For 1.6] Google SEO 1.6.8 [EOL] (/thread-101262.html)



RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - Speeder - 03-12-2012

After submitting my sitemap to Google, this error appears in Webmaster Tools:
Quote:Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.

How to fix this?


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - M.Abbasi - 03-16-2012

I active this on my forum, but i have a problem.
For example when i click on a link like this: http://iranbiologists.com/Thread-test I can view thread but when I click on this in index page for view latest post (e.g: http://iranbiologists.com/Thread-test?action=lastpost ) I view a blank page.

You can check this : http://iranbiologists.com/

Also why some links of threads changed?!


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - frostschutz - 03-16-2012

(03-11-2012, 09:51 AM)AlexThunder Wrote: What about SEO friendly URLs for the Lite (Archive) mode? I would prefer to have keywords-stuffed SEO friendly URLs in the archive and simple URLs for the forum.

It's not supported, and probably won't be supported in the future.

The archive mode is basically a completely different script; it does not support plugins the way the full mode does, it's also not changeable using templates; making SEO URLs for it is not impossible but requires a different concept.

(03-11-2012, 11:14 PM)Posterix Wrote: I'm using a custom URL scheme for threads and forums:

Forums: forum-{url}.html
Threads: {url}.html

That should be a conflict (what if a thread is called "forum foobar", URL would end up being forum-foobar.html for the thread, but it looks like a forum URL for a forum called "foobar".

You can choose any scheme you like, but you have to avoid such conflicts.

Numeric identifier for individual url types is currently not supported; you can turn them on globally (force uniquifier) or leave them as is. Personally I recommend leaving the URLs without IDs if possible. The whole idea of Google SEO URLs is to have words instead of numbers in there.

(03-12-2012, 04:01 PM)Speeder Wrote: Your Sitemap appears to be an HTML page. Please use a supported sitemap format instead.

Did you add the rewrite rule for the sitemap to your .htaccess? URL?

(03-16-2012, 06:31 AM)Jondan Wrote: when I click on this in index page for view latest post I view a blank page.

Works for me (did you fix it, or try it as a guest yourself). Usually caused by other plugins or files edited by you which output stuff that shouldn't be there, thereby breaking the redirect header.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - M.Abbasi - 03-16-2012

(03-16-2012, 05:07 PM)frostschutz Wrote:
(03-16-2012, 06:31 AM)Jondan Wrote: when I click on this in index page for view latest post I view a blank page.

Works for me (did you fix it, or try it as a guest yourself). Usually caused by other plugins or files edited by you which output stuff that shouldn't be there, thereby breaking the redirect header.

I deactivated it because I had this problem.
How Can I fix it?


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - king_og - 03-24-2012

Can you make it so old "thead-{url}"'s redirect to new "{parent}-{url}"'s.

Because I changed the url settings to include the parent forum and old threads are not being redirected.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - frostschutz - 03-25-2012

It already does that. Only condition is that you do not remove the old rewrite rules (so the old urls keep working). Also as always, take care to avoid URL scheme conflicts. If the rewrite rules for your new scheme conflict with your old scheme, i.e. if they match URLs of your old scheme, then it simply won't work.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - andrewjs18 - 03-27-2012

frost, I think I may of found a bug.....

http://community.mybb.com/thread-114349.html

the above thread is an issue I was having with the 'mark all forums read' settings which ended up being an authorization code mismatch, but when the google seo plugin was enabled, it showed a bunch of weird text, as noted in the link posted above in the first post. as soon as I disabled it, the authorization code mismatch error displayed as normal.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - frostschutz - 03-27-2012

Google SEO shouldn't be causing weird text to show up. I can't reproduce the issue anyway.

The issue usually occurs if you edit PHP files with Microsoft notepad, or otherwise have a bad PHP file somewhere that's loaded in this situation. The PHP file would put crap in the output thereby destroying the GZIP.

However in general it's better to let the webserver handle the gzipping instead of using the MyBB option. That way even if there is crap in the output, it doesn't break gzip.


RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - andrewjs18 - 03-27-2012

(03-27-2012, 08:57 PM)frostschutz Wrote: Google SEO shouldn't be causing weird text to show up. I can't reproduce the issue anyway.

The issue usually occurs if you edit PHP files with Microsoft notepad, or otherwise have a bad PHP file somewhere that's loaded in this situation. The PHP file would put crap in the output thereby destroying the GZIP.

However in general it's better to let the webserver handle the gzipping instead of using the MyBB option. That way even if there is crap in the output, it doesn't break gzip.

I'll try uploading a fresh copy of google seo to my site and a fresh .htaccess to see if one of the two might be the culprit.

edit: I uploaded a new copy of google seo with a fresh .htaccess and am still encountering the weird text. this time, it's not from 'marking this forum read' since I fixed that issue, but when you try to login and use the wrong username/password twice (it's set to only allow someone to try using the wrong info twice), on the second time, it'll show the page with the weird text. as soon as I disable google seo, it shows the actual error message instead: "You have failed to login within the required number of attempts. You must now wait 0h 15m 0s before you can login again." This is all the while that gzip was enabled. when I disabled gzip and had google seo enabled, it went to a 404 page.



RE: Google SEO 1.6.3 - andrewjs18 - 03-31-2012

frost,

if I have a forum in a /forum directory and wanted to move the forum to the root, would I have to add anything to my .htaccess file so all the links do not break?

so, for example, if someone clicks on a link in the thread that links to another thread on the forum, and it's currently set to link to link.com/forum, would it automatically resolve once the forum is moved to link.com?