MyBB Community Forums
Google spamming my search.php - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Community Archive (https://community.mybb.com/forum-106.html)
+--- Forum: Archived Forums (https://community.mybb.com/forum-143.html)
+---- Forum: Archived Development and Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-155.html)
+----- Forum: MyBB 1.6 (https://community.mybb.com/forum-138.html)
+------ Forum: 1.6 Security Management and Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-153.html)
+------ Thread: Google spamming my search.php (/thread-108730.html)



Google spamming my search.php - Richard - 2011-11-30

Well this is kind of weird, and I just found out about it recently.
I recently installed a plugin that allowed me to see search terms (and IIRC MyBB already does this - this plugin only displayed the contents from MySQL).

I set the setting regarding the search intervals to 30 seconds.
Here's a screenshot for clarification (I think the word "spam" is reasonable in this particular scenario):

http://i.imgur.com/nx2vV.png

A whois for that IP ( http://whois.domaintools.com/66.249.71.123 ) tells me it belongs to Google.

What I'm most interested in is, will it affect my website performance?
Oh and, why is Google doing this?


RE: Google spamming my search.php - Booher - 2011-11-30

Add the following to your robots.txt:
Disallow: /path/to/mybb/search.php 
And they shouldn't index it anymore.

althought, seems weird that there are THAT many. :o not sure :\


RE: Google spamming my search.php - Puppyite - 2011-11-30

(2011-11-30, 02:34 AM)Richard Wrote: Well this is kind of weird, and I just found out about it recently.
I recently installed a plugin that allowed me to see search terms (and IIRC MyBB already does this - this plugin only displayed the contents from MySQL).

Is there some way to see the search terms in AdminCP without the plugin? I’d like to know if that’s possible. TIA

What is the name of this plugin you're using?

Quote:I set the setting regarding the search intervals to 30 seconds.

My wild guess is that you’re seeing the same Google bot over and over again. I would try setting the interval higher. However I have no experience with that plugin so take this with a grain of salt

Quote:What I'm most interested in is, will it affect my website performance?

It shouldn’t.

Quote:Oh and, why is Google doing this?

I assume the Google bot is crawling your site for its search index. I disabled search for visitors on my forum, that might help you.


RE: Google spamming my search.php - Richard - 2011-11-30

Yeah I figured I should do that.
(2011-11-30, 02:42 AM)Booher Wrote: Add the following to your robots.txt:
Disallow: /path/to/mybb/search.php 
And they shouldn't index it anymore.

althought, seems weird that there are THAT many. :o not sure :\

It's called Search Log and it's by Labrocca. It's a premium plugin fyi
>What is the name of this plugin you're using?

I really want to stay away from that.
>I disabled search for visitors on my forum, that might help you.