MyBB Community Forums
(not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Resources (https://community.mybb.com/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: MyCodes (https://community.mybb.com/forum-117.html)
+--- Thread: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function (/thread-152406.html)



(not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - korinxyla - 2014-03-30

EDIT: I was pretty sure I posted this in general support cause it's not a MyCode thing... I don't know if this topic got moved or if somehow I posted in the wrong one....

----

I looked into the Search.php file but I am a complete novice when it comes to php and I honestly have no idea what I'm looking at.

There's a place on the member profiles where you can search all their posts just by clicking the link. I'd like that search function to be edited to do 3 things:

1. Find only the posts in certain forums (fid = 1,2,3,4) ... etc. - My board is a roleplay and we only count the in-character posting, so I'd like the search to automatically search out only the posts from the forums where roleplay is happening.

2. Display results as a Topic list instead of a listing of individual posts. - Most people just want to look for a specific thread. The individual posts are a bit repetitive.

3. Get rid of the preview/snippet of the post. I just want to see the Thread title. Most of our users format their posts with tables, so all we end up seeing in the preview is a bunch of html tags.


.....

If anyone is able to help with this or give me a code-block to edit in, I'd be most grateful. Smile


RE: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - korinxyla - 2014-03-31

bump bump. Smile


RE: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - korinxyla - 2014-04-04

bump.


RE: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - Leefish - 2014-04-04

I think that this is actually in the member php.

On or about line 1452 there is this query:

$query = $db->simple_select("threads", "tid", "fid IN (0$flist) AND visible = 1", array('order_by' => 'lastpost', 'order_dir' => 'DESC', 'limit' => '1'));

You could try changing the variable (0$flist) to something like ('1','2','3'). If you do decide to edit a core file I suggest you use the patches plugin as it makes upgrades much easier.

Code not tested.


RE: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - Omar G. - 2014-04-04

The "Find All Threads" link should filter by threads without post snips.

For the "Find All Posts"..

(2014-04-04, 03:51 AM)Leefish Wrote: I think that this is actually in the member php.

On or about line 1452 there is this query:

$query = $db->simple_select("threads", "tid", "fid IN (0$flist) AND visible = 1", array('order_by' => 'lastpost', 'order_dir' => 'DESC', 'limit' => '1'));

You could try changing the variable (0$flist) to something like ('1','2','3'). If you do decide to edit a core file I suggest you use the patches plugin as it makes upgrades much easier.

Code not tested.

It is actually in the search.php file, replace:
$where_sql = "uid='".intval($mybb->input['uid'])."'";

With:
$where_sql = "uid='".intval($mybb->input['uid'])."' AND fid IN ('1', '2', '3')";

Where 1, 2, and 3 are the allowed forums to search in.

To snip HTML, MyCode, and quotes from psot results, there was a plugin/mod of mine around here I couldn't find now xD


RE: (not a mycode request) - Edit Search Function - korinxyla - 2014-04-04

(2014-04-04, 04:39 AM)Omar G. Wrote: The "Find All Threads" link should filter by threads without post snips.

That only finds threads that were started by the user. I want to find any thread where that user has posted, so editing the search posts to only display the topic title works better... I did find that the preview code is in the templates so I removed that on my own.

I've edited the last bits in the templates to do what I want.

Thanks so much for looking into this and helping me out!

Leefish Wrote:If you do decide to edit a core file I suggest you use the patches plugin as it makes upgrades much easier.


I have no idea how to do that... I've actually edited several of the core files, and yah it is a tad annoying when I do upgrades to the newest version and it erases my edits; but I really don't know much about using plugins (and no idea what patches even are). I modified a few pluggins to do different things but I'm basically a noob when it comes to coding.
Big Grin Big Grin Big Grin