MyBB Community Forums
Domain changed cannot login to make admin - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: 1.8 Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-175.html)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-176.html)
+--- Thread: Domain changed cannot login to make admin (/thread-209868.html)

Pages: 1 2 3


Domain changed cannot login to make admin - Bigredclaygeorgia - 2017-04-19

hi I sold my forum but the issue is the buyer wanted the domain changed. the old domain was utubepoop.com the new domain is ytphub.com The site works but it now looks weird and I am unable to login to make the buyer as an admin and to transfer ownership. What do I do?

thank you for your help and timeĀ  Big Grin


RE: changed domain issues - broatcast - 2017-04-19

You need to change to change the url and the cookie domain in your inc/settings.php, after that login and change it in the ACP.


RE: changed domain issues - Bigredclaygeorgia - 2017-04-19

(2017-04-19, 07:15 PM)broatcast Wrote: You need to change to change the url and the cookie domain in your inc/settings.php, after that login and change it in the ACP.

still not working I tried that but when I try to login it says: "this page is not working data can't be sent"


RE: changed domain issues - broatcast - 2017-04-19

change this in your database to in the mybb_settings table, after that you can delete the settings.php file and mybb will create a new one from the settings in your database.

you can do this by running this sql querys:

update mybb_settings set `value` = "0" where `name` = "cookiesecureflag";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "/" where `name` = "cookiepath";
update mybb_settings set `value` = ".ytphub.com" where `name` = "cookiedomain";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "http://ytphub.com" where `name` = "bburl";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "http://ytphub.com" where `name`= "homeurl";

note: if you use another prefix you need to change the querys otherwise they dont work.

some useful links:
https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/styles/
https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/development/cookies/


RE: changed domain issues - Bigredclaygeorgia - 2017-04-19

(2017-04-19, 08:27 PM)broatcast Wrote: change this in your database to in the mybb_settings table, after that you can delete the settings.php file and mybb will create a new one from the settings in your database.

you can do this by running this sql querys:

update mybb_settings set `value` = "0" where `name` = "cookiesecureflag";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "/" where `name` = "cookiepath";
update mybb_settings set `value` = ".ytphub.com" where `name` = "cookiedomain";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "http://ytphub.com" where `name` = "bburl";
update mybb_settings set `value` = "http://ytphub.com" where `name`= "homeurl";

note: if you use another prefix you need to change the querys otherwise they dont work.

some useful links:
https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/styles/
https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/development/cookies/

I don't know the first thing about queries. Where do I go? do I go to file manager or phpmyadmin?
sorry i;m a noob. Big Grin

Thank you for your time


RE: changed domain issues - broatcast - 2017-04-19

You can run this commands from phpmyadmin, select your database.
You can find a tutorial here https://community.mybb.com/thread-4720.html


RE: changed domain issues - Bigredclaygeorgia - 2017-04-19

(2017-04-19, 09:19 PM)broatcast Wrote: You can run this commands from phpmyadmin, select your database.
You can find a tutorial here https://community.mybb.com/thread-4720.html

i think i found the main issue. (see attatchment) my old domain was utubepoop.com the new domain is ytphub.com. but my site might be stuck on the old. what do i do? thx Big Grin


RE: changed domain issues - broatcast - 2017-04-19

change the settings like i sayed by running the sql querys... then regenerate the settings.php simply by delete it or modify it manualy (after editing the database like discriped in prev post... then clear browser cache ...


RE: changed domain issues - Bigredclaygeorgia - 2017-04-20

(2017-04-19, 10:55 PM)broatcast Wrote: change the settings like i sayed by running the sql querys... then regenerate the settings.php simply by delete it or modify it manualy (after editing the database like discriped in prev post... then clear browser cache ...

this is what i found what does this mean? UPDATE mybb_settings SET value = "0" WHERE name = "cookiesecureflag";


RE: changed domain issues - broatcast - 2017-04-20

if this is 1 and not 0 in your configuration the cookie will forced to send over https but you are using http instead of encrypted connection... so this will prevent you from logging in.

the other querys rewrite your settings to the new domain.