MyBB Community Forums
Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: 1.8 Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-175.html)
+--- Forum: Installation and Upgrades Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-182.html)
+--- Thread: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" (/thread-223443.html)



Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - JeyC - 06-14-2019

Hi!

In the past, I installed MyBB, but the forum was never in use. Today I'm migrating to a new hosting, and I want to upgrade MyBB (before to maybe open this forum).

there are 3 users : 2 admins and 1 normal user (me, to test). I can login normally on my forum.

My actual MyBB is 1.8.7
I change PHP to go back to 5.6

I tried to update to the 1.8.21 by using "Changed Files" package.
I renamed the LOCK file, go to /install/upgrade.php

It asks a login, I used 2 the 2 admin user, but no... it's not working.

[attachment=41875]
[attachment=41876]

I found someone who explained to delete COOKIES, but it's not working for me.
I don't have other credentials.

Please, do you have any idea?
Thanks


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - Serpius - 06-14-2019

(06-14-2019, 09:04 PM)JeyC Wrote: Hi!

In the past, I installed MyBB, but the forum was never in use. Today I'm migrating to a new hosting, and I want to upgrade MyBB (before to maybe open this forum).

there are 3 users : 2 admins and 1 normal user (me, to test). I can login normally on my forum.

My actual MyBB is 1.8.7
I change PHP to go back to 5.6

I tried to update to the 1.8.21 by using "Changed Files" package.
I renamed the LOCK file, go to /install/upgrade.php

It asks a login, I used 2 the 2 admin user, but no... it's not working.




I found someone who explained to delete COOKIES, but it's not working for me.
I don't have other credentials.

Please, do you have any idea?
Thanks

You did the upgrade WRONG!

If you are upgrading from 1.8.7 to 1.8.21, that's considered a major upgrade, you need to download the FULL package, not the Changed Files.

That is where your problem is. You tried to do this upgrade with the wrong package.

Download the FULL package and do the upgrade from that package.


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - JeyC - 06-15-2019

Thank you.
I forgot to write it : I already tried with a full package (my first try before to try with the "changed files" package.

I have exactly the same result.

Before to try to update, I restore a copy of the folder (to be sure to have the installation before I tried to update.


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - JeyC - 06-17-2019

Please ?


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - effone - 06-17-2019

I have gone through the process and the error can happen only in 2 cases:
1. If the username doesn't exist in database
2. If the database doesn't return any user id against the said username

The first function username_exists() is eventually gets routed through the second (and common) function get_user_by_username().
There is a rare chance to the second call fail if you are trying to login using email. The first check defaults to checking username and email though.

Can you confirm you are trying to login only using username and not email?


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - JeyC - 06-17-2019

It was this... so simple...
Thanks a lot. But why in one side the email is used and allowed and not on the other side.

Thanks again. Smile

Now, the homepage is broken, full of :
��][s�8�~���Ӳ�u�%��]I�tg�
...


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - effone - 06-17-2019

I will surely discuss this and add the email check if agreed upon.
Thanks for finding this weird hidden issue.


RE: Impossible to upgrade "The username you have entered appears to be invalid" - JeyC - 06-18-2019

Nice if you change this.
Thanks again Smile