MyBB Community Forums
How to change hosts successfully - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Resources (https://community.mybb.com/forum-8.html)
+--- Forum: Tutorials (https://community.mybb.com/forum-38.html)
+--- Thread: How to change hosts successfully (/thread-27771.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Inferno - 2008-01-25

grandgoodel Wrote:NO.
I have a website and i created the database and username i imported the database and still not works.
if someone can help me please send me a PM.
Thanks
Can you give me a link to your website?


RE: How to change hosts successfully - nucleusfermi - 2008-01-28

I attempted this procedure and got the page opening right as well but when I click on AdminCP it takes me to the old host's adminCP, did I miss some changes in ./inc/settings.php or ./inc/config.php file?


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ryan Loos - 2008-01-29

If you type in your new domain address followed by /admin then you will be directed to the new Admin CP.
Then change (in your settings) the board URL to the new URL, and the other options of a similar nature, obviously.

I think that will fix your problem.

Before doing so, ensure all files are correctly CHMOD'ed. Smile


RE: How to change hosts successfully - nucleusfermi - 2008-01-29

Thanks friend, it is working proper now.


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ramy - 2008-02-01

what if I am moving to another server and upgrading to a new version as well, would I need to select all when making the back up?


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ryan Loos - 2008-02-02

You do exactly the same thing as described in this thread and then follow the upgrading instructions which can be found in our Wiki.


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ramy - 2008-02-02

aright thanks great tutorial.

I have another question, my FTP client brings doesnt seem to be able to copy the whole forum folder like indicated before, how do I get around this?


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ryan Loos - 2008-02-02

Try a new FTP client?
Alternatively, find out how to do it with your current FTP client. There probably is a way to do it and you've overlooked something. Check some help files or at their website. Smile


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ramy - 2008-02-03

thanks for the advice, I was using filezilla and it was limiting me so I got smartFTP and works much better, thanks!

I just had a quick question for learning puposes Smile , why do I need to transfer files and import mysql as well? I mean if I copy the files shouldnt that do the trick? jsut wondering, thanks again!


RE: How to change hosts successfully - Ryan Loos - 2008-02-03

Think of the files as a human body. It's great. But what makes it special is the brain (database/MySQL). So you need to copy the body and brain over to the new host for it to be the exact same person. Smile

So if you just copy the files; none of your posts, members, threads, profiles, etc will be copied onto the new server.