MyBB Community Forums
how can i add shadows as my borders? - Printable Version

+- MyBB Community Forums (https://community.mybb.com)
+-- Forum: Extensions (https://community.mybb.com/forum-201.html)
+--- Forum: Themes (https://community.mybb.com/forum-103.html)
+---- Forum: Theme Support (https://community.mybb.com/forum-10.html)
+---- Thread: how can i add shadows as my borders? (/thread-31177.html)

Pages: 1 2


how can i add shadows as my borders? - apropowerranger - 2008-05-02

how can i add a shadowed border like mybbs?


thanks in advanced


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - Imad Jomaa - 2008-05-03

this is called a background image. You can use this css code to achieve it, all you need to do is put it within the body tag or a class or id you create:
background: url(images/backgroundimagename.png) repeat-y;
width: imagewidthinpixelspx;
margin: auto auto;


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - Snowy - 2008-05-03

http://blindmansgfx.net/forums2/index.php
Quote:background-image:url(images/shadows.png);
background-attachment: fixed;
background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-position: top center;
background-width:975px;
What I used


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - microcip - 2008-05-04

using this code:
Quote:#shadow-left {
background-image: url(images/mytheme/myshadow.png);
background-repeat: repeat-y;
background-position: left;
}
i've this result:
[Image: th_32403_ombra_122_697lo.JPG]
how i can put the shadow out of the board(where is the red line) without shrink the forum dimensions?

i try to use padding: 10px;
but it shrink my board.......


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - Imad Jomaa - 2008-05-04

Does the background image have two ends? As in: to act as a border on both ends. If so change this:

background-position: left;
to: center
or to: margin: auto auto;
or to: margin: 0 auto;


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - microcip - 2008-05-04

uhm no;the forum layout is ''liquid'' it hasn't a fixed width.


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - Imad Jomaa - 2008-05-04

microcip Wrote:uhm no;the forum layout is ''liquid'' it hasn't a fixed width.

If it's liquid your going to have some problems. Making it fixed is best. Making liquid themes is a lot harder.


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - microcip - 2008-05-04

[Image: cry2.gif]
a looong night expect me......


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - Imad Jomaa - 2008-05-04

microcip Wrote:[Image: cry2.gif]
a looong night expect me......

Give me a link to your forum. I'll do it for you via firebug.


RE: how can i add shadows as my borders? - microcip - 2008-05-04

http://www.coolingtechnique.com/forum/
the background color will be white.
thank you very much.