Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
How To: Undo sending a PM
#1
This is something I came across today which I was unaware of, so I thought I'd share it with the rest of the community. If you're in a user group which allows you to track your private messages (User CP > Tracking), you can cancel a message which has not yet been read by the recipient by checking the message and clicking on "Cancel the selected messages".

[Image: ppIUbfj.png]

I had always assumed the two buttons did the same thing, until I checked the code:

$db->delete_query("privatemessages", "pmid IN ($pmids) AND receipt='1' AND status='0' AND fromid='".$mybb->user['uid']."'");

Happy messaging. Smile
No longer involved in the MyBB project.
Reply
#2
TIL.
Reply
#3
Recently found this too. Never saw this before, was it a new feature?
Reply
#4
(02-07-2014, 03:53 PM)iHydra Wrote: Recently found this too. Never saw this before, was it a new feature?

It has been there for quite some time.
Reply
#5
This user has been denied support. This user has been denied support.
Haha, I found this too mysteriously when I saw an email of PM but when I went to my site, I saw it was not there. I came to it as a shock immediately thinking was there anything suspicious or such but when I started to mess around by sending me PM and checking those options, I realized this is already core lol. Meanwhile the user who originally PM'd me also replied with that he cancelled that.

You never know what mysteries are hidden sometimes. Smile
Reply
#6
aarrrghhh, did not know this before over years Smile
Hello, Welcome to MyBB Indonesia to get local support
My 'Simple' Unique Plugin here Smile
Reply
#7
Been using it for a while to 'edit' messages, didn't know it's a secret, although I saw 2 people asking for that button's functionality on other language forum because they couldn't understand difference between "Stop Tracking" and "Cancel".

That's why I think they are named wrong. Both suggest that tracking should be cancelled. Instead, the 2nd could be "Undo delivery" or something similar that suggests their complete removal.
Reply
#8
I just pushed b756cc6 which changes that. Simple change. Smile
No longer involved in the MyBB project.
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)