Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago Mybb migration to another host.
#1
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
Hello.
I need to migrate my website to another host.
I'm using version 1.8.7 and I need a step-by-step tutorial to make the migration. 

The installation of mybb on the current host is located at

/public_html/mybb/Upload/

Can you help me, please? 
Thank you!
Reply
#2
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
We have a guide here: https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/moving-to-a-new-web-host/
MyReactions - All Plugins

Can you still feel the butterflies?

Free never tasted like pudding.
Reply
#3
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
(2021-09-10, 08:55 PM)Matt Wrote: We have a guide here: https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/moving-to-a-new-web-host/

Thank you Matt !
Reply
#4
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
(2021-09-10, 08:55 PM)Matt Wrote: We have a guide here: https://docs.mybb.com/1.8/faq/moving-to-a-new-web-host/

Hi Matt, does it make sense to keep both "Old" and the "New" hosting functional during the change of domain DNS during the migration for a few days - and setup the "old" copy in "read only" mode? or once our browser use already updated DNS settings - its supposed that also any other visitor will already have new DNS settings?
thank you
Reply
#5
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
You can do, yeah - a read only mode might be difficult to do and would involve having to remove all permissions from all usergroups, which may be confusing for people who don't realise the site is moving servers. If it was me I'd leave the old board up with the board closed message, then when the DNS changes people will see the board open as usual on the new server.
MyReactions - All Plugins

Can you still feel the butterflies?

Free never tasted like pudding.
Reply
#6
Solved: 2 Months, 2 Weeks, 6 Days ago
(2021-09-20, 09:47 AM)Matt Wrote: You can do, yeah - a read only mode might be difficult to do and would involve having to remove all permissions from all usergroups, which may be confusing for people who don't realise the site is moving servers. If it was me I'd leave the old board up with the board closed message, then when the DNS changes people will see the board open as usual on the new server.

Hi, yes in fact  broad closure on the "old" board is better then "read only" option I was thinking about. thank for the suggestion.
have a nice day
Reply


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)