Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
[F] Reputation Limit and bbcodes in rep [R]
#1
There doesn't seem to be a character limit for reputations. Is it set the same as post character limit. People have started to use bbcode in reputations too..is that suppose to happen?

So...not sure if you want to count this as an official but I hope you do. People could use reps to spam.

EDIT: Found out that people are getting around a character limit. Shouldn't the database just hard code the character limit? If it's set to text but why not varchar(255)?

EDIT 2: Here is text from the exploiters:

Quote:how do you get over the character limit
Nyx- says (8:55 PM):
for reps
Jesse says (8:56 PM):
Tamperdata
Jesse says (8:57 PM):
Set up your rep to be + or -... Start Tamper data... Edit the rep
Nyx- says (8:58 PM):
ohtite
Nyx- says (8:58 PM):
kk
Jesse says (8:58 PM):
Set up your rep to be + or -... Start Tamper data... Submit..... Edit the rep

(that Jesse is not me)
#2
Unfortunately, I'm going to probably say that this is a limitation. For one, there's no option in the AdminCP to specify limits for reputation comments (there's a hard coded minimum length however).

(10-26-2008, 03:54 AM)labrocca Wrote: EDIT: Found out that people are getting around a character limit. Shouldn't the database just hard code the character limit? If it's set to text but why not varchar(255)?
Because that restricts lengths to 255 characters. You could alter your table to be VARCHAR(255) to impose a limit (it should work fine).


As for bbCode, the parsing code couldn't have been added in by mistake, so that's intentional.
#3
Quote:Because that restricts lengths to 255 characters. You could alter your table to be VARCHAR(255) to impose a limit (it should work fine).

Yes that's what I did.

Quote:As for bbCode, the parsing code couldn't have been added in by mistake, so that's intentional.

Hmm...mistake or intentional it should be considered for removal. There isn't a need for bbcode in reps. Someone can even use basic tags like img tag to screw up the reps page.
#4
Fixed the BBcode. in reputation.php find:

$reputation_parser = array(
			"allow_html" => "no",
			"allow_mycode" => "no",
			"allow_smilies" => "yes",
			"allow_imgcode" => "no"
		);

replace with

$reputation_parser = array(
			"allow_html" => 0,
			"allow_mycode" => 0,
			"allow_smilies" => 1,
			"allow_imgcode" => 0
		);
#5
I've added a character limit for it to 1.6, since it's not ideal to be adding settings during a maintenance release.

Ryan
#6
Thank you for your bug report.

This bug has been fixed in our internal code repository. Please note that the problem will not be fixed here until these forums are updated.

With regards,
MyBB Group


Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)