MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: List of MyBB Internal Variables
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I'm just getting started learning to customize MyBB templates and themes and also new to HTML, CSS and PHP. I'm actually making progress, but I've hit a brick wall when it comes to customization.

Where can I find a list of all the $mybb->xxx internal variables?

I want to customize my theme to include a list of who's on-line avatars(say 4-8 sized down) somewhere in the header. I used '$mybb->user['avatar']' to display the users avatar in welcomeblock_member, but can't figure out how to get a list of who's on-line and point it to their avatars.

Any help would be greatly appreciated as I have avoided posting this for a while Googling myself and trying not to bother anyone. You'd think a list of MyBB internal variables would be in the Wiki . . . maybe it is and I've missed it.
create a new php called test.php, fill it with the below content and put it in your forum root and then access the url

<?php 
define("IN_MYBB", 1);
include "global.php";
echo '<pre>';
print_r($mybb);
echo '</pre>';

?>

this will dump the entire $mybb object with all its settings, variables, etc.

You can do the same for $db, $lang, $config, $theme, etc.

of course thee will be the default items, any plugins that modify them will not be in this output (except for global_start and global_end)
Thanks so much for your input, but the question remains of why this isn't in the wiki. Shortly after I made this post I realized that the Database Methods section of the wiki contains a lot of good information, but it still seems like a lot is missing. There are references in the templates to variables that I can't find documentation for . . .