MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: MyBB database's Quality
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Hey everyone,

I'm studying databases right now at the university and we've just learned something about "Database Quality" and "Normal Forms", there are many normal forms (I hope some of you know what I'm talking about) 1NF, 2NF, 3NF, BCNF, 4NF...., the 3NF and BCNF are the best ones, easier to manage with NO redundant information, and answers queries 10x to 100x faster...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_normal_form
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Second_normal_form
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Third_normal_form
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boyce%E2%80...ormal_form

Now I know that this might not get your interest, but I've just checked MyBB database and it's not even 1NF...

It's really easy to improve a database's quality, though, this will need to edit all the PHP code behind, so I suggest to put this as a suggestion for MyBB 2.0... PHP code will be reduced, because every single data is stored ONE time in ONE appropriate table only in the database, you don't have to update it everywhere, and you're sure you won't miss any data or have redundant data...

I don't think many bulletin board really care about that fact, but I think we should...

Because the forums are growing, and we should really think of something to improve the database quality, (I remember last day when I tried to search the word "time" on this forum, it was giving me a blank page)

So I make this suggestion for MyBB 2.0, what do you think?
I'm fairly sure the MyBB database structure is already pretty well normalised - data is mostly atomic within the core (unless I'm very much mistaken).
But you need to consider number of writes versus number of reads. In a system where reads are typically 10,000x the number of writes, duplicating data over multiple tables is much simpler and a more efficient method.