MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Need resources to extend my HTML,PHP,JS skils?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hey guys well this is my first post in this section as never really understood the point of these sections on forums but....

Basically i left college a few weeks/months ago permantly as i just finished my computer technician course. I am now kinda stuck on what to do next in my life Sad i want to do some sort of website or coding or technician job however there are no jobs around my area for this line of work. And the jobs i do find i am not skilled enough in. I am good at various things but i am not a 'master' of any.

So what should i do?

What resources did you guys use to learn php, js, html etc? I can code basic programs and basic sites but nothing enough to be able to make money from it :'(

And how do you guys make money from this sort of work? Im not good at gfx so i cant create themes although i could probbably code it.

Thanks
Best way to learn is to practise. Join sites like Forrst and trawl blogs like net tuts daily. You'll be surprised how much you pick up in a short amount of time. As for getting work, sort out a personal site and build up a portfolio of work that really shows off your skills. A good way to build up your reputation is by doing work pro bono as people will likely talk about you if you do it well.
First of all, I'd say to pick one and stick to it. Don't try and learn them all at once. The thing is, they're all very closely related, so whichever one you choose, there's almost no doubt you'll come across the others at some point. Then, when that point comes, take a look at what you need to know, and learn it.