MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Searching on keywords
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am going to post this at the risk of someone pointing out the obvious.

When entering multiple keywords in a forum search, how are they handled (in a boolean way)? I thought search would use AND (i.e. keyword1 AND keyword2) or maybe even OR. But neither seems to be the case. Search seems to only use the first keyword.

For example, if I search all forums, titles only, I get unexpected results:
Keyword "background" yields 18 pages of results
Keyword "subscription" 4 pages
Two keywords "background subscription" 18 pages
Two keywords "subscription background" 4 pages

What gives? Are keywords after the first ignored? Is there a way around this?

This is a real problem because I am new to MyBB and trying to learn a lot, but I'm having a tough time finding information without poring over pages of search results.
see this (read complete thread if you have time)
Thanks for replying so quickly. this is driving me crazy.

I read the whole post but I'm still not sure I understand. Moreover, I don't know where I can check the setting on my board (it's a prototype I'm setting up). I am using MySQL as the db, so I think I should I have options. I'd search to find the setting, but ......

From what I gather, one search (FULLTEXT?) allows boolean search. What does the other do? What is the other setting/type of search called?
^ admin panel >> configuration >> settings >> Search System >> Search Type -->
Quote:Please select the type of search system you wish to use. You can either chose between "Standard",
or "Full Text" (depending on your database). Fulltext searching is more powerful than the standard
MyBB searching and quicker too.