MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: install of textlinkads program
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
SO here it is. My forum is running on MyBB 1.2.7. I'm interested in placing text link ads from text-link-ads.com. Anyone done it successfully before? I'm an inexperienced coder so keep that in mind while you read below.

I get their (textlinkads) php code, set a variable with it in global.php and then call that variable in the header template, no luck. I get a error code that seems to suggest to me that their php code isn't formatted properly (from searching the error code in Google). I don't know if that's correct, I figure it's my error, so I remove all of that coding and move on to try something else a different way.

I mistakenly move on to try and create a new 'setting' in the admin panel. Nothing seems to happen so I move on.

Eventually, I end up trying to create my own plugin with their php code (from plugin creation guides in this forum). After messing around with that for a while I'm actually successful and my plugin shows correctly in the plugin manager. HOWEVER, my textlinkads now show up at the top of my admin section, not in my forum. Hmmmm. Whenever I activate or deactivate the plugin in the plugin manager, the text link ads moves between the top of my admin panel to just under the navigation tree of the header. with that.

So I move on to try and get the ads to show up in my form so I place a $plugins->run_hooks to the plugin index.php and portal.php page. I get an error saying the header has already been called by something else blah, blah.

Can anyone diagnose what I need to do to get back to square one and do this properly?

Thanks,
N
I would need your plugin code to help you out. You can upload it as an attachment.
Isn't the code they give you Javascript? Place the code they tell you to insert.