MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Can admin get email notification that a new user is awaiting activation?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I am new to MyBB, I'm the admin for a site,

I set new user Registration Method to "Email Verification & Admin Activation" but I am not getting an email when new users are awaiting activation. 

Is it possible to have one sent to me? I'm so new, I don't even know if this is normal. If it is possible, where do I set this?

I don't see any actual setting that says "Send the admin an email when new users are awaiting activiation Yes/No" or whatever, and I don't getting one when someone registers. They get their email to verify, and then my admin CP says they are awaiting activation if I log in. But I don't get an email. The email logs don't show any activity. I did not log in for two weeks once and found somebody had been waiting a long time.

Thanks if you can help!
Are you using PHPmail or SMTP ?

If you are using PHPmail, try creating an email with your domain name. Most of the hosting provider need that for PHPmail
First, can you or someone please confirm for me, or not - Is MyBB supposed to send an email that someone is awaiting activation?

You would think it should, but I have not actually seen anything anywhere say that it actually does. Nor has anyone confirmed this for me. Nor do I see any settings to turn it on or off, which implies that it does not exist.

Past that, I am not sure what to do with what you said. I do not know if I am using PHPmail or SMTP mail. I can tell you that:
  • if someone fills out the contact card, I get a copy to forum admin (which is then forwarded to my personal email)
  • If I send a mass email, all three accounts get it (all mine. still setting up the BB and testing.)