MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Community Hosting Platform
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Alright, firstly - I hate writing threads so I'm going to try and be as brief as possible, and secondly I'm not good at writing threads, so don't expect this to sound amazing or remotely coherent. Caveat lector. Warning aside let's proceed with some context.

We had the discussion about this initially in the community Discord server, you can join that here by the way.

The discussion stemmed from the topic of MyBB's minimum PHP version, which is currently 5.2. People are uneasy with the idea of bumping that up to 5.6 or above due to the sheer number of boards that are using such an old version, they are rightly concerned about doing anything that could harm MyBB's userbase and drive people away to other forum softwares. I think it might have been Eric or Azareal that originally raised the possibility of MyBB offering a free shared hosting platform much like services such as CreateMyBB and IcyBoards.

The premise for offering this service is simple:
  • Too many people are hosting MyBB on free, low quality, webhosts such as 000webhosting
  • This is one of the reasons preventing the minimum PHP version from being bumped, the sheer number of boards on hosts that don't support anything above PHP 5.4
  • These webhosts are directly contributing to a lack of modernisation for MyBB, we're still hashing passwords with MD5 for example and plugins to fix that are mostly only available for boards running on PHP 5.6/7.0+
  • So, in order to help fix that, we'd need to offer a new home for those boards if we were to raise the minimum PHP version from 5.2 to 5.6 (I argued for 7.0 but hey, don't always get what you want ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)