MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: How to Create Backup and Restore the Entire MyBB Forum?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

I am new to MyBB, and after playing for some days with MyBB, I see Creating Backup and Restoring the Backup is indeed a big big problem. Still there is no such easy solutions to this problem.

But at the same time, I see there is many big big forum are live even after many attacks by hackers. Don't know how they maintain this backup things.

Do you guys knows any such methods, that big forum are using for their daily backup?

Also is there any tools or script for automatic daily backup with restoring options?

This is a serious issues, I am expecting pros to contribute here, please!

Help us with this serious issue, so we can think of making good community.

Kind Regards
Zak
[For 1.8] Get Daily Automatic Backup of Your MyBB Database

https://community.mybb.com/thread-171419.html
I use mysqldump for database backup and run shell scripts with cron for automatic backing up, compressing, remote backup (rsync) and maintaining only several recent backups.
Same than @noyle: I use my own scripts with mysqldump and rsync, and I keep 7 backups (one by weekday).
Btw, I've several protections to avoid attacks (fail2ban which my own jails, and other small utilities)
There's any easy way for non technical person to backup mybb forum, both database and file ?

also there is any easy restore process as well?
For backups simply use the MyBB feature.
Go to ACP -> Tools & Maintenance -> Database Backups -> Tab: New Backup

This will backup the entire database with all contents, templates and styles.
Mind this is a database backup only resulting in an SQL file.
In case of a disaster recovery, you can restore the forums with a new installation and importing the SQL file.