MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Experiences with MyBB
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I'm new to MyBB and I'd like to know what your experiences are with this BB? Looks pretty okay, but feedback would be nice Smile

Yours truly,
Ace
Ace-Someone Wrote:Hi,

I'm new to MyBB and I'd like to know what your experiences are with this BB? Looks pretty okay, but feedback would be nice Smile

Yours truly,
Ace

Extremely easy to use for new users, has all the advanced features for more experienced users and administrating the forums is pretty simple (eg. modifying the templates, themes, etc). One of the most interesting aspects of MyBB is the plugin system - which I believed should be developed further (with introductions of new plugins). Hopefully 1.0 Gold will produce this.
It's good. I like it. I think it's easy to customize and work in.

Needs more mods available, the mod-makers have pretty much disappeared (or remained quiet, don't know which is worse and not sure why the silence) and very little of the RC4 mods have been updated for PR2, but to be fair a lot of "sought after" mods for RC4 were incorporated into PR2. But the things I'm looking for like a blogging/journal modification, a shoutbox (has yet to be updated), an automated paid subscriber feature and cash mod w/ shop aren't available right now. I'm still waiting on an update for "Events on Index". Why it wasn't built into PR2, I have no idea. I thought it made sense. Also still waiting on a fix for the arcade mod.

Overall, though... the flexibility and strength myBB has as a forum software could put it in competition even with the "big 2", IPB and vB. It's not as good at this point, but I think it could be in due time.

It's a great piece of software. I made the move from phpBB and I'm glad I did! It's leaps and bounds above phpBB and much easier to work with than SMF.