MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: not the faintest clue
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hi guys,
I can't be sure if anyone can relate to being a total beginner at something, but thats where im at.
I wanna set up a forum.. sounds easy(?) lead me here.
and im like WTF!!!

Is there a sticky, or intro or friednly helpful beginners guide?
i dont know what version i have. what a fkn css is, or any other such garble.

I know how to get around aforum, and I know how I want to make it appear and function,
but the rest seems like steamy turds.

Any advice for getting a clue with this stuff?

kind thanks
BJM

[Wiki: Installing] (Broken link, head over to docs.mybb.com instead)

Do you have a host yet...?? If you've just downloaded MyBB then you'll have version 1.6.2...
No, I haven't a host yet.
I thought maybe there was some degree of 'free' hosting..
is it hosted only as long as it takes to first build it or something?

thanks heaps guys. Is there a lot of Q&A around here? I stumbled across one thread where someone was kinda making demands for help.. instead of seeming appreciative,
and then some reference to a limit on free requests for help or something.
Is there like some dummies guide out there for building forums or something?

Or do I just treat u guys extra nice? Smile
You can use http://www.x10hosting.com/ for a free host
MyBB does not provide any hosting. As ImagineDesigns said, you can use a free host such as x10hosting.com (I had some decent experience with them before I moved to a paid host). There is a lot of Q&A and there is (to the best of my knowledge) no real limit on "free requests for help".