MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Urgent: Cannot Locate Reason for Excessive Server Load
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Site: www.vampirecounts.net
Host: Immediate VPS: VPS server, Memory 1GB, Burst 2GB, Bandwidth 1.46 TB

Hi,

I have been running the above site for 5 years approx and never had this issue.

I upgraded the site to a new theme last night, and installed some new plugins. Upgrading finished at 0100 approx.

Site ran fine up until around 10-11 hours later, where suddenly it started putting excessive load on the server, 15 minute average standing at 26.35 when it should be 0.85 - 1.5

All users have been revered to the old theme incase the javascript in that was an issue. I have disabled the resource intensive plugins such as Abbreviations, Edit History Log, Fit on Page, reCaptcha, Viglink, While you were typing.

I did try to uninstall MyBB WYSIWYG Editor (1.0.3) but whilst it shows as being deactivated, it is still working in the forum.

I am at a loss as to where this load is coming from, I have not had anymore traffic than normal. The only abnormal thing I did notice was that a mass PM I was sending from the AdminCP was taking a very long time (going to 6000 members, normally takes a few hours), possibly because I linked an image in it. So I deleted the mailing halfway through.

If anyone can recommend where to look I would really appreciate it. Could it possible be the WYSIWYG editor?

Cheers
A WYSIWYG editor shouldn't strain the server too much. Javascript puts no strain on either as it's entirely client-side. Have you checked the task system to see if any kind of odd task is being run or if a certain task is taking longer than usual to run?
Well the system has started to calm down now, so I can only assume it is one of the plugins I disabled which were:

Admin Post Edit
Admins can log into Users' accounts
Edit History Log
Fit on Page
Viglink