Posts: 1,052
Threads: 108
Joined: Jun 2008
(2010-03-03, 07:47 AM)gamerfreak1788 Wrote: Wow...i love this. i am currently using this. I have one question...
when i clikc report button...a interface pops up saying i should only report a user for spam, advertisement, abuse...how do i edit that? so i can add my forum rules??
Good question
(2010-03-03, 12:11 PM)John_S Wrote: (2010-03-03, 07:47 AM)gamerfreak1788 Wrote: Wow...i love this. i am currently using this. I have one question...
when i clikc report button...a interface pops up saying i should only report a user for spam, advertisement, abuse...how do i edit that? so i can add my forum rules??
That text is within MyBB core, this plugin doesn't modify it, but you can manually edit it in /yourforumdirectory/inc/languages/english/report.lang.php
Hope it helps
what do we have to change in report.lang.php? for it to work without pop ups?
Posts: 66
Threads: 11
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation:
0
(2010-03-03, 11:31 PM)technoman Wrote: (2010-03-03, 07:47 AM)gamerfreak1788 Wrote: Wow...i love this. i am currently using this. I have one question...
when i clikc report button...a interface pops up saying i should only report a user for spam, advertisement, abuse...how do i edit that? so i can add my forum rules??
Good question
(2010-03-03, 12:11 PM)John_S Wrote: (2010-03-03, 07:47 AM)gamerfreak1788 Wrote: Wow...i love this. i am currently using this. I have one question...
when i clikc report button...a interface pops up saying i should only report a user for spam, advertisement, abuse...how do i edit that? so i can add my forum rules??
That text is within MyBB core, this plugin doesn't modify it, but you can manually edit it in /yourforumdirectory/inc/languages/english/report.lang.php
Hope it helps
what do we have to change in report.lang.php? for it to work without pop ups?
Hey there,
Could you please explain what do you mean by "work without pop ups?"
John_S
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation:
0
2010-08-14, 01:41 PM
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-14, 04:02 PM by ImperfectShaun.)
I'm experiencing an issue when the title contains an apostrophe - the ' character
I know this is is the kinda hole that allows unwanted code to run on mysql.
I'm trying to fix it myself, but you should really update this. Other than this, it appears to work on 1.6, and adds a very good feature most moderation teams should use.
Critical changes required:
- $db->escape_string( subject )
- $db->escape_string( forum name )
Also, other changes you could do:
- Cannot report a report post (it sounds silly but makes sense)
- I changed the subject to "Report: [post-subject] by [post-author]" to be more specific; the reporting-user is the author of the thread.
- Take into account "Posts in this forum increase post count." option in settings - I would think most admins would turn this option off for a hidden system such as this one. I've just commented out that section for now.
Posts: 66
Threads: 11
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation:
0
2010-08-14, 03:57 PM
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-14, 05:26 PM by John_S.)
(2010-08-14, 01:41 PM)ImperfectShaun Wrote: I'm experiencing an issue when the title contains an apostrophe - the ' character
I know this is is the kinda hole that allows unwanted code to run on mysql.
I'm trying to fix it myself, but you should really update this. Other than this, it appears to work on 1.6, and adds a very good feature most moderation teams should use.
I'll have a look at it, thanks for sharing the issue!
Edit: Thank you! I updated the script, but instead of adding several $db->escape_string() I removed them all in the message template and added it in $reportedpost declaration ( "message" => $db->escape_string( $message ) ).
Posts: 5,866
Threads: 96
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation:
311
Thanks for the update, muchos appreciated.
Posts: 66
Threads: 11
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation:
0
UPDATE: Plugin has been updated to the version 1.1 with following changes: - Fixed error reported by ImperfectShaun here which appeared when you had a thread subject with ' sign in it.
- Added support for "Count created posts towards user's post count?".
Attachment on the first page has been updated accordingly.
Posts: 5
Threads: 0
Joined: Aug 2010
Reputation:
0
Experimenting a bit more and with some digging, I've updated it to use the post datahandler. It seems to be the easier, proper and cleaner way of doing it.
This also fixes a bug where the report thread didn't trigger a subscription notification.
FYI, I reformatted the report thus:
Thread subject:
OffendingUser: OffendingPostSubject
Post body:
Reported by ReportingUser because...
ReportingUser Wrote:Reason given for report.
Offending post by OffendingUser
ForumName -> OffendingPostSubject
OffendingUser Wrote:Content of the offending post.
Posts: 1,159
Threads: 23
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation:
12
nice
does work on 1.6?
Posts: 66
Threads: 11
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation:
0
2010-08-14, 10:01 PM
(This post was last modified: 2010-08-14, 10:06 PM by John_S.)
(2010-08-14, 06:40 PM)FBI Wrote: nice
does work on 1.6? Yep, I tasted it on the latest version, and it works fine for me
(2010-08-14, 06:00 PM)ImperfectShaun Wrote: Experimenting a bit more and with some digging, I've updated it to use the post datahandler. It seems to be the easier, proper and cleaner way of doing it.
This also fixes a bug where the report thread didn't trigger a subscription notification.
FYI, I reformatted the report thus:
Thread subject:
OffendingUser: OffendingPostSubject
Post body:
Reported by ReportingUser because...
ReportingUser Wrote:Reason given for report.
Offending post by OffendingUser
ForumName -> OffendingPostSubject
OffendingUser Wrote:Content of the offending post. Hey there!
Mind sharing your code?
As for the thread subscription, why do you need to trigger a subscription? Personally I never thought it was required, because the mod intends to let moderators to discuss things, without interferences of users (aka users aren't supposed to see report threads => no need for a subscription), or?
Posts: 5,866
Threads: 96
Joined: Nov 2009
Reputation:
311
(2010-08-14, 10:01 PM)John_S Wrote: As for the thread subscription, why do you need to trigger a subscription? Personally I never thought it was required, because the mod intends to let moderators to discuss things, without interferences of users (aka users aren't supposed to see report threads => no need for a subscription), or?
That would be useful to me as I have reported posts go to a forum where members can only view/reply to their own threads. So the reported post can be discussed between the reporter and the staff.
I'm running this on 1.6 with no problems so far.
|