MyBB Community Forums

Full Version: DEBATE: Windows 95 as a webserver
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13
SinisterSlay Wrote:their older products have abotu the same stability, just none of the safe guards, and also Win 95 has very little dependncy and memory sharing between programs, for example, if Internet Explorer Crashes,and you have 3 windows open, only 1 will crash, the others will be fine.

I've been working on windows 95 since 1995, thats 12 years now, i know its quirks pretty well, I also know its strengths adn weaknesses, such as it won't run for mroe than 3 months or it will crash from an overflow error from the system uptime counter, but also you can pretty much shut down every processes and the system will keep running, you can repair most damage you make using safe mode or DOS. important files that you should neve rtouch really are in the system folder, nto scattered all over the place. My Documents folder is off the root of C.
The save dialogs will crash if you try and select no file type at all. teh save file dialogs will automatically save a default save location for each application, including Word, etc., rather than always pointing to the My Documents folder (which in 95 days, you never used anyways because until you installed Office, it didn't exist).

Apache has to be run in Console mode, no such thing as a service.
Viruses and malware can't install themselves as services.
There are very few places a virus can put itself to get itself run at startup.
Processes cannont be hidden, even with a rootkit.
End task actually stops all system activity, rather than loading another program.
Explorer.exe automatically reloads instantly after a crash, XP does not.
Explroer does not however, reload your system tray icons.
9x ssytem has winipcfg, allowing users a visual way to manage network addresses, 2000.XP/Vista do not.